يوم السكان الأصليين

التحديث 2.0 - Educator Resources

أعلن العمدة سيلفستر تورنر هذا العام يوم 12 أكتوبر 2020 يومًا للشعوب الأصلية في مدينة هيوستن. احتفالًا باليوم المعلن الجديد ، اجتمع سكان هيوستن في هيرمان بارك لتكريم والاحتفال بيوم السكان الأصليين لأول مرة في تاريخ مدينتنا. احتفلت ولاية ساوث داكوتا بيوم Indigenoues لأول مرة في عام 1990 ، ومنذ ذلك الحين تبنته 14 ولاية وأكثر من 130 مدينة. تأتي الدفعة من أجل الانتقال من يوم كولومبوس إلى يوم الشعوب الأصلية بعد تاريخ طويل من سوء المعاملة والاقتراع للأشخاص الأصليين في هذا البلد. وفقًا لـ The World ، فإن "عدد الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في أمريكا الشمالية والوسطى والجنوبية عندما وصل كريستوفر كولومبوس هو سؤال كان الباحثون يحاولون الإجابة عليه لعقود. على عكس أوروبا والصين ، لم يتم الاحتفاظ بسجلات عن حجم مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في الأمريكتين قبل عام 1492 ... من خلال الجمع بين جميع التقديرات المنشورة من السكان في جميع أنحاء الأمريكتين ، نجد أن عدد السكان الأصليين المحتمل يبلغ 60 مليونًا في عام 1492. "

موارد الفصول الدراسية

الإصدار 1: فيديو Chikawa

الإصدار 2: فيديو Chikawa

Chikawa Dancer head dress.png
chikawa dancer2.png
chikawa no bg.png

وفقًا لمكتب الشؤون الهندية التابع للحكومة الأمريكية ، هناك 600 قبيلة هندية في الولايات الـ 48 المجاورة وفي ألاسكا. يوجد في تكساس ثلاث قبائل معترف بها فيدراليًا ، قبيلة ألاباما-كوشاتا في تكساس ، قبيلة كيكابو التقليدية ، وقبيلة إيسليتا ديل سور بويبلو.

هنا في هيوستن ، حكمت قبيلة كارانكاوا منطقة هيوستن-جالفستون قبل أن تنقرض. أصبح اسم كارانكاوا التسمية المقبولة لعدة مجموعات أو مجموعات من سكان المناطق الساحلية الذين يشتركون في لغة وثقافة مشتركة. هذه العصابات ، التي تم تحديدها في العصور التاريخية المبكرة ، شملت Capoques (Coaques ، Cocos) ، Kohanis ، Kopanes (Copanes) ، و Karankawa المناسبة (Carancaquacas). لقد سكنوا ساحل خليج تكساس من خليج جالفيستون جنوب غربًا إلى خليج كوربوس كريستي ، "وفقًا لما ذكرته جمعية ولاية تكساس التاريخية. يمكن قراءة تاريخهم الكامل هنا ،

( https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/karankawa-indians )

الآن تقع جنوب هيوستن واحدة من قبائل تكساس غير المعترف بها فيدراليا منذ فترة طويلة ، قبيلة كاريزو كوميكرودو ، وتقع في براونزفيل. "تشير البيانات الموجودة في الأرشيفات إلى أن السكان الأصليين في كاريزو وُجدوا في مناطق مصب زاكات كريك وريو غراندي في العصر الحديث.

وصفت المنطقة بأنها مغطاة بنباتات الخيزران ، كاريزو ، التي استخدمتها القبيلة في بناء الجاكال وكذلك أدوات الصيد والرماح والأقواس والسهام ، وأصبحت أعدادهم جزءًا من السجل ، بعد أن تم إحصاؤها لأول مرة في تعداد Villa de San Agustin de Laredo في عام 1789.

لاحظ الأخ روبرت د. وود في كتاب الحياة في لاريدو (فيلم وثائقي عن أرشيفات لاريدو) أن إحصاء 1789 يميز بين ثلاث فئات من الناس: الإسبان وماتزوس ومولاتوس.

T بلغ كان تعداد السكان 700 في المجموعات الثلاث. كتب وود أيضًا ، كشيء من فكرة لاحقة ، هناك ذكر لـ 110 كاريزو من الهنود المرتبطين ببلدة لاريدو. في أربعة وأربعين عامًا ، زاد عدد السكان عشر مرات تقريبًا ". رابط لصفحتهم والتاريخ

( http://www.carrizocomecrudonation.com/ )

إلى الشمال من هيوستن توجد قبيلة Chikawa Azetec ، وهي مجموعة من السكان الأصليين الذين يسعون إلى تثقيف وإعادة ربط الآخرين بسكانهم الأصليين من خلال الرقص والتعليم. أتيحت الفرصة لمتدربي TEJAS Media Interns هذا الصيف للتواصل مع أعضاء Chikawa وتوثيق قصتهم أثناء التعرف على تاريخ القبيلة وأهمية إعادة الاتصال مع المجموعات الغاضبة.

Tejas.White.png

INDIGENOUS DAY

Update 2.0 - Educator Resources

This year Mayor Sylvester Turner proclaimed October 12, 2020  as Indigenous Peoples Day in the city of Houston. In celebration of the new proclaimed day, Houstonians gathered at Herman Park to honor and celebrate idigenous people's day for the first time in our city's history. Indigenoues people day was first celebrated in 1990 by South Dakota and since then 14 states and over 130 cities have adopted it. The push to transition from Columbus day to Indigenous Peoples Day comes after the long history of mistreatment and suffrage of indigeouns people in this country. According to The World, “The number of people living in North, Central and South America when Christopher Columbus arrived is a question that researchers have been trying to answer for decades. Unlike in Europe and China, no records on the size of Indigenous societies in the Americas before 1492 are preserved...By combining all published estimates from populations throughout the Americas, we find a probable Indigenous population of 60 million in 1492.”

Classroom Resources

Version 1: Chikawa Video

Version 2: Chikawa Video

According to the US Government Bureau of Indian Affairs, there are 600 Indian tribes in the contiguous 48 states and Alaska. In Texas there are 3 federally recognized tribes, the Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas, the Kickapoo Traditional Tribe, and Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Tribe.

 

Here in Houston, The Karankawa tribe once ruled the Houston-Galveston region before they were extinct. “The name Karankawa became the accepted designation for several groups or bands of coastal people who shared a common language and culture. Those bands, identified in early historic times, included the Capoques (Coaques, Cocos), Kohanis, Kopanes (Copanes), and Karankawa proper (Carancaquacas). They inhabited the Gulf Coast of Texas from Galveston Bay southwestward to Corpus Christi Bay,” states the Texas State Historical Association. Their full history can be read here,

(https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/karankawa-indians )

Now South of Houston stands one of the long standing federally unrecognized tribes of Texas, the Carrizo Comecrudo Tribe, located in Brownsville. “Data in the archives indicated that the Carrizo indigenous were found in areas of the mouth of the modern-day Zacate Creek and Rio Grande.

The region was described as overly vegetated with bamboo plants, carrizo, which the tribe used to build their jacales as well as hunting tools, spears, bows and arrows.Their numbers had become part of the record, having been counted for the first time in a census of Villa de San Agustin de Laredo in 1789.

 

In the book Life in Laredo (A Documentary of the Laredo Archives),Brother Robert D. Wood observed,The census of 1789 distinguished three classes of people: Spaniards, Matzos and Mulattos.

 

 

 

The census totaled 700 populations in the three groups. Wood also wrote,Like something of an afterthought, there is a mention of 110 Carrizo Indians attached to the town Laredo.In forty-four years, the population had grown almost ten times.” Link to their page and history

 

(http://www.carrizocomecrudonation.com/ )

To the north of Houston is Chikawa Azetec Tribe, a group of       indigenous people who seek to educate and reconnect others     to their indigenous through dance and education. This               summer TEJAS Media Interns had the opportunity to engage      with members of Chikawa and document their story while        learning about the tribe's history and importance of                 reconnecting with indigneous groups.