環境正義

原則

1991年10月24日至27日在華盛頓特區舉行的首屆全國有色人種環境領導峰會的代表,起草並通過了17條環境正義原則。自那時以來,《原則》一直是日益增長的爭取環境正義的基層運動的定義性文件。

氣候正義

原則

1996年12月6日至8日,四十名有色人種和歐美代表在新墨西哥州傑米茲舉行了“全球化與貿易工作組會議”。傑麥斯會議由西南環境與經濟正義網絡主持,目的是增進來自不同文化,政治和組織的與會人員之間的共識。與會者通過了以下有關民主組織的“傑麥斯原則”。

民主組織

原則

一個聚集在約翰內斯堡舉行的地球峰會的國際團體聯盟發布了一系列原則,旨在“使人的面孔面對氣候變化”。 《巴厘氣候正義原則》從人權和環境正義的角度重新定義了氣候變化。該原則是由聯盟(包括CorpWatch,第三世界網絡,石油觀察,土著環境網絡等)在2002年6月在巴厘島舉行的地球峰會的最終籌備談判中製定的。

氣候變化很可能是人類面臨的最大威脅。然而,到目前為止,尋找解決方案的談判大部分都陷在技術領域,並且被大型石油,煤炭和公用事業公司等特殊利益集團以及美國等政府所束之高閣。最新的例子是在約翰內斯堡峰會上放棄可再生能源計劃的努力。對於許多人來說,氣候問題是生死攸關的問題。氣候變化的最大不公正之處在於,受災最重的人對造成這一問題的責任最小。 《巴厘氣候正義原則》力求擴大在氣候變化方面發揮領導作用的選區。他們通過將當地社區問題與氣候變化聯繫起來來做到這一點。

Environmental Justice

PRINCIPLES

Delegates to the First National People of Color Environmental Leadership Summit held on October 24-27, 1991, in Washington DC, drafted and adopted 17 principles of Environmental Justice. Since then, The Principles have served as a defining document for the growing grassroots movement for environmental justice.

Climate Justice

PRINCIPLES

On December 6-8, 1996, forty people of color and European-American representatives met in Jemez, New Mexico, for the “Working Group Meeting on Globalization and Trade.” The Jemez meeting was hosted by the Southwest Network for Environmental and Economic Justice with the intention of hammering out common understandings between participants from different cultures, politics and organizations. The following “Jemez Principles” for democratic organizing were adopted by the participants.

Democratic Organizing

PRINCIPLES

An international coalition of groups gathered in Johannesburg for the Earth Summit has released a set of principles aimed at “putting a human face” on climate change. The Bali Principles of Climate Justice redefine climate change from a human rights and environmental justice perspective. The principles were developed by the coalition — which includes CorpWatch, Third World Network, Oil Watch, the Indigenous Environmental Network, among others — at the final preparatory negotiations for the Earth Summit in Bali in June 2002.

Climate change may very well be the biggest threat facing humanity. Yet, the negotiations to find solutions have so far been mired mostly in the technical arena, and have been derailed by special interest groups such as large oil, coal and utility companies and governments such as the United States. The latest example are the efforts to sideline renewable energy plans at the Johannesburg Summit. For many, the issue of climate is a matter of life and death. The biggest injustice of climate change is that the hardest hit are the least responsible for contributing to the problem. The Bali Principles of Climate Justice seek to broaden the constituency providing leadership on climate change. They do so by linking local community issues to climate change.