IMG_6663.jpg

洪水

傳統上,環境正義研究關注與空氣污染和危險廢物等技術危害相關的健康風險。同樣,颶風和熱帶風暴對休斯敦造成重大洪災,使社區遭受與洪水有關的環境危害的比例過高。根據NOAA的初步數據,在哈維颶風期間,洪水造成的環境不公被鍍鋅,我們中的許多人都是親身經歷的。在該州殺死了80多人。每次發生重大颶風和暴風雨時,我們都想起自然災害的影響以及防洪和備災的重要性。

為了準備和解決我們社區的洪水影響,至關重要的是要了解受影響社區及其代表的確切位置。富爾高中(Furr High School)的郵政編碼為郵政編碼77013,它為來自各個郵政編碼和附近地區的學生提供服務,這就是為什麼我們包含指向《休斯頓市郵政編碼參考指南》的鏈接的原因,以便學生相應地訪問資源。在記錄和報告人為災難,崩潰或洪水事件時,了解您的位置至關重要。哈里斯縣是美國第三大人口縣,擁有34個合併的城市,包括休斯敦,並分為4個區,這對於居民在確定管轄區時常常是一個挑戰。作為援助,我們已編制了一份資源清單,供居民使用,以收集證據並向向Furr高中服務的縣和轄區報告事件。如果從未報告過,減少洪水風險和改善差距的積極方法將無法實施。社區有權通過公民報告和記錄來提高意識。

Untitled design (89).png
 

資源

用於洪水

1.png
3.png
2.png

有用的網址

向下滾動以查看下一個主題

紳士化

 

紳士化是一個複雜的過程,從經濟到人口變化,都會以多種方式影響中低端社區。新開發項目的湧入吸引了高收入居民,通常會將原本的社區成員遷出其社區。社會和經濟障礙經常阻礙長期居住的居民在自己的社區獲得房地產。為了更好地理解高檔化及其對歷史色彩社區的負面影響,我們必須首先解決美國的種族隔離問題。其次,他們承認1930年代的種族歧視影響了當今美國社區的人口統計和財富格局。 1865年標誌著南北戰爭的結束,解放宣言的標誌,黑人勞動的改變以及歧視性做法的開始,例如《黑人法典》。正如《歷史》所指出的那樣,“黑典是限制性法律,旨在限制非裔美國人的自由,並確保在南北戰爭期間廢除奴隸制後,它們可以作為廉價勞動力獲得。根據黑人法規,許多州要求黑人簽署年度勞動合同。如果他們拒絕,他們就有被逮捕,罰款和被迫從事無償勞動的風險。 ” https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/black-codes在得克薩斯州,“黑代碼”一直持續到1867年,當時約瑟夫·B·基杜(Joseph B. Kiddoo)將軍宣布有偏見的自由主義者停止了對黑手的執行。聯邦住房管理局在1930年代採用了歧視性的做法,該機構拒絕向非裔美國人提供抵押貸款,並且僅批量生產白人房屋。該過程由政府調查員完成,他們將大多數和最不希望的地方用顏色編碼,而最不希望的地方則用紅色進行了顏色編碼,這主要是由於該地區的種族或族裔人口統計所致。 《顏色法》(The Color Law)一書重點介紹了種族主義政策,並解釋了即使在內戰和重建後仍保持美國城市中白人和黑人分離的種族主義政策。 (紳士化資源中提供的直接鏈接)

作為老師,您可以通過教他們投資於社區並做出負責任的教育和財務決策,增強學生和提升被系統邊緣化的社區的能力。對於我們的高檔化活動,我們從史密森尼博物館(Smithsonian Museum)的“城市之權”(A Right to the City)中汲取了靈感,該博物館通過研究華盛頓特區六個社區的動態歷史,探索了鄰里變化和公民參與該國首都的歷史。一年,我們將推出“休斯頓通行權”,以解決並抓住我們在紳士社區內建房的機會和挑戰。感興趣的地區:第三區,第五區,弗里德曼鎮

rawImage (1).jpg

資源

為了民族化

Copy of Student resources.png
1.png
4.png

有用的網址

向下滾動以查看下一個主題

16013891488457.jpg

說出他們的名字

 

“說出自己的名字紀念館”是一項全國性的計劃,旨在表彰系統性種族主義和種族不公正所奪取的黑人生命。該紀念館於2020年6月14日在俄勒岡州的波特蘭市啟動,此後已到達全國25個地點。 STNM為公共展覽製作旅行紀念館,其目標是在全國每個城市獲得紀念館;為您的社區創建的紀念館。

休斯頓紀念館於9月29日開放,並將一直持續到2020年10月13日,您可以在一周中的任何一天上午10點至晚上7點參觀公共設施。 Hidalgo女士將於10月9日至11日下午1:30至4:00在那裡志願者和收集教育工作者的感言。我們想突出顯示此紀念館,並創建了該視頻,作為您向學生展示通過藝術品解決社會正義的另一種方法的工具。作為出生於21世紀的學生設計師,他們具有使用技術和軟件來創造能夠引發有意義的對話和討論的產品的優勢。我們希望您在教室裡使用這段視頻來談論種族正義和公民參與的重要性,以確保這些不公正現像不會再發生。

資源

說出他們的名字

1.png
4.png

有用的網址

IMG_6663.jpg

FLOODING

Traditionally environmental justice research focuses on health risks related to technological hazards such as air pollution and hazardous waste. As well Hurricanes and Tropical Storms generate major floods to Houston and disproportionately expose communities to environmental hazards associated with inundation. The environmental injustices of flooding were galvanized during Hurricane Harvey, and many of us experienced it first hand, according to NOAA's preliminary data Hurricane Harvey dumped more than 51 inches of rain in Harris county, flooded hundreds of thousands of homes, apartment units and businesses and killed upwards of 80 people in the state. With every major hurricane and storm we are reminded of the effects of natural disasters and the importance of flood mitigation and disaster preparedness.

To prepare and address flooding impacts in our communities, it is vital to know the precise location of affected neighborhoods and their respective representatives. While Furr High School stands in zip code 77013, it serves students from various zip codes and neighborhoods, which is why we included a link to the City Of Houston Zip Code Reference guide for students to access resources accordingly. Knowing your location is vital when documenting and reporting man-made disasters, crashes, or flooding events. Harris County is the third-most populous county in the United States, with 34 incorporated cities, including Houston, and broken into 4 precincts, which often becomes a challenge for residents when identifying jurisdictional boundaries. As aid, we have compiled a list of resources for residents to use for the collection of evidence and reporting of events to the county and precinct that served Furr High School. Proactive approaches for reducing flood risks and improving disparities can not be implemented if they were never reported. Communities have the power to bring awareness through citizen reporting and documenting. 

 

RESOURCES

FOR FLOODING

1.png
3.png
2.png

helpful links

Scroll Down For Next Topic

GENTRIFICATION

 

Gentrification is a complex process that impacts low or middle class communities in many ways from economic to demographic change. The influx of new development attracts higher-income residents and typically displaces original community members out of their neighborhoods. Social and economic barriers often impede long standing residents from attaining real estate in their own community. To better understand gentrification and the negative impacts on historical communities of color, we must first address the segregation in America. Second, acknowledged that racial discrimnitaion in the 1930’s shaped the demographics and patterns of wealth  in American communities today. The year 1865 marked the end of the Civil War, the signage of the Emancipation Proclamation, the change in black labor, and the start of discriminatory practices such as, Black Codes . As stateted by The History, “Black Codes were restrictive laws designed to limit the freedom of African Americans and ensure their availability as a cheap labor force after slavery was abolished during the Civil War. Under black codes, many states required blacks to sign yearly labor contracts; if they refused, they risked being arrested, fined and forced into unpaid labor. ” https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/black-codes In Texas, Black Codes continued until 1867 when General Joseph B. Kiddoo declared the codes biased against freedmen and stopped its enforcement. Discriminatory practices picked up in the 1930’s by the Federal Housing Administration, which refused mortgages to African Americans and only mass-produced homes for whites. This process was done by government surveyors  that color coded neighborhoods by most and least desirable, the least desirable were color coded in red largely due to the neighborhoods racial or ethnicla demographic. The book, “The Color Law” highlights and explain the racist policies to maintain the separation of whites and blacks in American Cities even after the Civil War and into Reconstruction. (A direct link provided in the Gentrification Resources)

As a teacher you can empower students and uplift communities that have been systematically marginalized for generations by teaching them to invest in their communities  and make responsible educational and  financial decisions. For our gentrification activity we took on inspiration from  “A Right to the City” by the Smithsonian Museum, which explores the history of neighborhood change and civic engagement in the nation’s capital by looking at the dynamic histories of six Washington, D.C., neighborhoods.This year we will launch “A Right To HOUSTON” tackling and capturing our chance and challenges to build a home inside our gentrifying neighborhoods. Neighborhoods of interest: THIRD WARD, Fifth Ward, Freedman's Town 

rawImage (1).jpg

RESOURCES

FOR GENTRIFICATION

helpful links

Scroll Down For Next Topic

16013891488457.jpg

SAY THEIR NAMES

 

The “Say Their Name Memorial” is a nationwide initiative to honor Black lives taken by systemic racism and racial injustice.  The memorial was started in Portland, Oregon on Juneteenth 2020 and has reached over 25 locations nationwide since. STNM produces traveling memorials for public exhibition and their goal is to get a memorial in every city across the country; a memorial created for and by your community. 

 

The Houston memorial opened on September 29th and will remain until October 13th, 2020, you can visit the public installation from 10am to 7pm any day of the week. Ms. Hidalgo will be there on October 9th and 11th from 1:30 to 4:00pm volunteering and capturing reflections from educators. We want to highlight this memorial and created this video as a tool for you to show your students another way to address social justice through artwork. As student designers born in the 21st century they have an advantage to use technology and software to create products that spark meaningful conversations and discussions. We hope you use this video in your classroom to talk about racial justice and the importance of civic engagement to ensure these injustices never repeat again.

RESOURCES

Say their names

helpful links