IMG_6663.jpg

الفيضانات

تركز أبحاث العدالة البيئية تقليديًا على المخاطر الصحية المتعلقة بالمخاطر التكنولوجية مثل تلوث الهواء والنفايات الخطرة. كما تولد الأعاصير والعواصف الاستوائية فيضانات كبيرة في هيوستن وتعرض المجتمعات بشكل غير متناسب للمخاطر البيئية المرتبطة بالفيضانات. تم تحفيز المظالم البيئية الناجمة عن الفيضانات خلال إعصار هارفي ، وقد عانى الكثير منا من ذلك مباشرة ، وفقًا للبيانات الأولية الصادرة عن الإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي (NOAA) ، ألقى إعصار هارفي أكثر من 51 بوصة من الأمطار في مقاطعة هاريس ، وأغرق مئات الآلاف من المنازل والوحدات السكنية والشركات و قتل ما يزيد عن 80 شخصًا في الولاية. مع كل إعصار وعاصفة شديدة ، نتذكر آثار الكوارث الطبيعية وأهمية التخفيف من آثار الفيضانات والتأهب للكوارث.

لإعداد ومعالجة آثار الفيضانات في مجتمعاتنا ، من الضروري معرفة الموقع الدقيق للأحياء المتضررة وممثليها. بينما تقف Furr High School في الرمز البريدي 77013 ، فإنها تخدم الطلاب من مختلف الرموز البريدية والأحياء ، ولهذا السبب قمنا بتضمين رابط إلى دليل City Of Houston Zip Code Reference للطلاب للوصول إلى الموارد وفقًا لذلك. تعد معرفة موقعك أمرًا حيويًا عند توثيق الكوارث التي من صنع الإنسان أو الحوادث أو أحداث الفيضانات والإبلاغ عنها. مقاطعة هاريس هي ثالث أكبر مقاطعة من حيث عدد السكان في الولايات المتحدة ، مع 34 مدينة مدمجة ، بما في ذلك هيوستن ، ومقسمة إلى 4 مناطق ، والتي غالبًا ما تصبح تحديًا للمقيمين عند تحديد حدود الولاية القضائية. كمساعدة ، قمنا بتجميع قائمة بالموارد للمقيمين لاستخدامها في جمع الأدلة والإبلاغ عن الأحداث إلى المقاطعة والمنطقة التي خدمت مدرسة فور الثانوية. لا يمكن تنفيذ الأساليب الاستباقية للحد من مخاطر الفيضانات وتحسين التفاوتات إذا لم يتم الإبلاغ عنها مطلقًا. تتمتع المجتمعات بالقدرة على نشر الوعي من خلال الإبلاغ عن المواطنين والتوثيق.

Untitled design (89).png
 

مصادر

للفيضانات

1.png
3.png
2.png

روابط مفيدة

قم بالتمرير لأسفل للحصول على الموضوع التالي

التوليد

 

التحسين هو عملية معقدة تؤثر على مجتمعات الطبقة الدنيا أو المتوسطة بعدة طرق من التغيير الاقتصادي إلى التغيير الديموغرافي. يجذب تدفق التنمية الجديدة السكان ذوي الدخل المرتفع وعادة ما يؤدي إلى تشريد أفراد المجتمع الأصليين من أحيائهم. غالبًا ما تمنع الحواجز الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المقيمين منذ فترة طويلة من الحصول على العقارات في مجتمعهم. لفهم التحسين والتأثيرات السلبية على المجتمعات التاريخية الملونة بشكل أفضل ، يجب علينا أولاً معالجة الفصل العنصري في أمريكا. ثانيًا ، أقر بأن التمييز العنصري في الثلاثينيات شكل التركيبة السكانية وأنماط الثروة في المجتمعات الأمريكية اليوم. شهد عام 1865 نهاية الحرب الأهلية ، ولافتات إعلان التحرر ، والتغيير في العمل الأسود ، وبدء الممارسات التمييزية مثل الرموز السوداء. كما جاء في التاريخ ، "كانت الرموز السوداء قوانين تقييدية تهدف إلى تقييد حرية الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي وضمان توافرهم كقوة عاملة رخيصة بعد إلغاء العبودية خلال الحرب الأهلية. بموجب الرموز السوداء ، طلبت العديد من الولايات من السود توقيع عقود عمل سنوية ؛ إذا رفضوا ، فقد يتعرضون لخطر الاعتقال والغرامة وإجبارهم على العمل بدون أجر. " https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/black-codes في تكساس ، استمرت الرموز السوداء حتى عام 1867 عندما أعلن الجنرال جوزيف ب. كيدو أن الرموز متحيزة ضد المحررين وأوقف إنفاذها. التقطت الممارسات التمييزية في ثلاثينيات القرن العشرين من قبل إدارة الإسكان الفيدرالية ، التي رفضت الرهون العقارية للأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي وفقط المنازل المنتجة بكميات كبيرة للبيض. تم إجراء هذه العملية من قبل المساحين الحكوميين الذين تم ترميز الأحياء بالألوان من قبل الأكثر والأقل استحسانًا ، وكان أقلها مرغوبًا فيه هو اللون المشفر باللون الأحمر إلى حد كبير بسبب الأحياء العرقية أو العرقية الديموغرافية. يبرز كتاب "قانون اللون" ويشرح السياسات العنصرية للحفاظ على الفصل بين البيض والسود في المدن الأمريكية حتى بعد الحرب الأهلية وإعادة الإعمار. (رابط مباشر متوفر في Gentrification Resources)

بصفتك مدرسًا ، يمكنك تمكين الطلاب والارتقاء بالمجتمعات التي تم تهميشها بشكل منهجي لأجيال من خلال تعليمهم الاستثمار في مجتمعاتهم واتخاذ قرارات تعليمية ومالية مسؤولة. لقد استوحينا نشاطنا من التحسين من "الحق في المدينة" لمتحف سميثسونيان ، والذي يستكشف تاريخ تغيير الحي والمشاركة المدنية في عاصمة الأمة من خلال النظر في التاريخ الديناميكي لستة أحياء في واشنطن العاصمة. سنطلق في العام "الحق في هيوستن" للتعامل مع فرصتنا والتحديات التي نواجهها لبناء منزل داخل أحيائنا المتميزة. الأحياء ذات الأهمية: الجناح الثالث ، الحي الخامس ، مدينة فريدمان

rawImage (1).jpg

مصادر

للتوليد

Copy of Student resources.png
1.png
4.png

روابط مفيدة

قم بالتمرير لأسفل للحصول على الموضوع التالي

16013891488457.jpg

قل أسماءهم

 

"قل اسمهم التذكاري" هي مبادرة وطنية لتكريم أرواح السود التي أزهقتها العنصرية النظامية والظلم العنصري. بدأ النصب التذكاري في بورتلاند ، أوريغون في Juneteenth 2020 ووصل إلى أكثر من 25 موقعًا على مستوى البلاد منذ ذلك الحين. تنتج STNM نصب تذكارية متنقلة للمعارض العامة وهدفها هو الحصول على نصب تذكاري في كل مدينة في جميع أنحاء البلاد ؛ نصب تذكاري تم إنشاؤه لمجتمعك وبواسطة.

افتتح النصب التذكاري لهيوستن في 29 سبتمبر وسيبقى حتى 13 أكتوبر 2020 ، يمكنك زيارة التثبيت العام من الساعة 10 صباحًا حتى 7 مساءً في أي يوم من أيام الأسبوع. ستكون السيدة هيدالغو هناك يومي 9 و 11 أكتوبر من الساعة 1:30 إلى 4:00 مساءً للعمل التطوعي والتقاط الأفكار من المعلمين. نريد تسليط الضوء على هذا النصب التذكاري وإنشاء هذا الفيديو كأداة لتظهر لطلابك طريقة أخرى لمعالجة العدالة الاجتماعية من خلال الأعمال الفنية. بصفتهم طلابًا مصممين ولدوا في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، فإنهم يتمتعون بميزة استخدام التكنولوجيا والبرمجيات لإنشاء منتجات تثير محادثات ومناقشات هادفة. نأمل أن تستخدم هذا الفيديو في صفك للحديث عن العدالة العرقية وأهمية المشاركة المدنية لضمان عدم تكرار هذه المظالم مرة أخرى.

مصادر

قل أسمائهم

1.png
4.png

روابط مفيدة

IMG_6663.jpg

FLOODING

Traditionally environmental justice research focuses on health risks related to technological hazards such as air pollution and hazardous waste. As well Hurricanes and Tropical Storms generate major floods to Houston and disproportionately expose communities to environmental hazards associated with inundation. The environmental injustices of flooding were galvanized during Hurricane Harvey, and many of us experienced it first hand, according to NOAA's preliminary data Hurricane Harvey dumped more than 51 inches of rain in Harris county, flooded hundreds of thousands of homes, apartment units and businesses and killed upwards of 80 people in the state. With every major hurricane and storm we are reminded of the effects of natural disasters and the importance of flood mitigation and disaster preparedness.

To prepare and address flooding impacts in our communities, it is vital to know the precise location of affected neighborhoods and their respective representatives. While Furr High School stands in zip code 77013, it serves students from various zip codes and neighborhoods, which is why we included a link to the City Of Houston Zip Code Reference guide for students to access resources accordingly. Knowing your location is vital when documenting and reporting man-made disasters, crashes, or flooding events. Harris County is the third-most populous county in the United States, with 34 incorporated cities, including Houston, and broken into 4 precincts, which often becomes a challenge for residents when identifying jurisdictional boundaries. As aid, we have compiled a list of resources for residents to use for the collection of evidence and reporting of events to the county and precinct that served Furr High School. Proactive approaches for reducing flood risks and improving disparities can not be implemented if they were never reported. Communities have the power to bring awareness through citizen reporting and documenting. 

 

RESOURCES

FOR FLOODING

1.png
3.png
2.png

helpful links

Scroll Down For Next Topic

GENTRIFICATION

 

Gentrification is a complex process that impacts low or middle class communities in many ways from economic to demographic change. The influx of new development attracts higher-income residents and typically displaces original community members out of their neighborhoods. Social and economic barriers often impede long standing residents from attaining real estate in their own community. To better understand gentrification and the negative impacts on historical communities of color, we must first address the segregation in America. Second, acknowledged that racial discrimnitaion in the 1930’s shaped the demographics and patterns of wealth  in American communities today. The year 1865 marked the end of the Civil War, the signage of the Emancipation Proclamation, the change in black labor, and the start of discriminatory practices such as, Black Codes . As stateted by The History, “Black Codes were restrictive laws designed to limit the freedom of African Americans and ensure their availability as a cheap labor force after slavery was abolished during the Civil War. Under black codes, many states required blacks to sign yearly labor contracts; if they refused, they risked being arrested, fined and forced into unpaid labor. ” https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/black-codes In Texas, Black Codes continued until 1867 when General Joseph B. Kiddoo declared the codes biased against freedmen and stopped its enforcement. Discriminatory practices picked up in the 1930’s by the Federal Housing Administration, which refused mortgages to African Americans and only mass-produced homes for whites. This process was done by government surveyors  that color coded neighborhoods by most and least desirable, the least desirable were color coded in red largely due to the neighborhoods racial or ethnicla demographic. The book, “The Color Law” highlights and explain the racist policies to maintain the separation of whites and blacks in American Cities even after the Civil War and into Reconstruction. (A direct link provided in the Gentrification Resources)

As a teacher you can empower students and uplift communities that have been systematically marginalized for generations by teaching them to invest in their communities  and make responsible educational and  financial decisions. For our gentrification activity we took on inspiration from  “A Right to the City” by the Smithsonian Museum, which explores the history of neighborhood change and civic engagement in the nation’s capital by looking at the dynamic histories of six Washington, D.C., neighborhoods.This year we will launch “A Right To HOUSTON” tackling and capturing our chance and challenges to build a home inside our gentrifying neighborhoods. Neighborhoods of interest: THIRD WARD, Fifth Ward, Freedman's Town 

rawImage (1).jpg

RESOURCES

FOR GENTRIFICATION

helpful links

Scroll Down For Next Topic

16013891488457.jpg

SAY THEIR NAMES

 

The “Say Their Name Memorial” is a nationwide initiative to honor Black lives taken by systemic racism and racial injustice.  The memorial was started in Portland, Oregon on Juneteenth 2020 and has reached over 25 locations nationwide since. STNM produces traveling memorials for public exhibition and their goal is to get a memorial in every city across the country; a memorial created for and by your community. 

 

The Houston memorial opened on September 29th and will remain until October 13th, 2020, you can visit the public installation from 10am to 7pm any day of the week. Ms. Hidalgo will be there on October 9th and 11th from 1:30 to 4:00pm volunteering and capturing reflections from educators. We want to highlight this memorial and created this video as a tool for you to show your students another way to address social justice through artwork. As student designers born in the 21st century they have an advantage to use technology and software to create products that spark meaningful conversations and discussions. We hope you use this video in your classroom to talk about racial justice and the importance of civic engagement to ensure these injustices never repeat again.

RESOURCES

Say their names

helpful links