Plastics, Pipelines, Fracking & Our Planet June 20, 2018 (5CT/ 6MT/ 7CT/ 8ET)

BY YVETTE ARELLANO · JUNE 20, 2018


Tejas will be LIVE TWEETING: Feel free to interact with us via Twitter: Follow us on @Tejasbarrios Fracking doesn’t just fuel power plants, it also provides raw materials to the petrochemical industry. Producing plastics and other petrochemical products is inherently toxic, polluting the environment and imposing public health risks on workers and the communities near the plants. The demand for these petrochemicals is so great that the plastics industry is now a driving force behind new fossil fuel extraction and infrastructure expansion. Much of this plastic ends up in the world’s oceans creating an ecological and public health disaster the scope of which we are only beginning to understand. In this webinar, we will discuss the links between fracking and the petrochemical industry and describe the projects proposed in our communities that support these polluting industries. We will also discuss the TransAtlantic Campaign to stop chemical giant INEOS from exporting natural gas liquids to Europe. Date: Wednesday, June 20, 2018 Time: 5:00 p.m. PT / 6:00 p.m. MT / 7:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. ET. Where: The Internet We’ll be using a web conferencing platform called Zoom so we can share slides and infographics — so we strongly recommend that you join from a computer. Register to view this webinar here: https://secure.foodandwateraction.org/act/plastics-pipelines-fracking-and-our-planet Speakers include:

  • Sandra Steingraber, Distinguished Scholar in Residence, Ithaca College

  • Alison Grass, Deputy Research Director, Food & Water Watch

  • Rebecca Britton, Founder, Uwchlan Safety Coalition

  • Juan Parras, Executive Director, Texas Environmental Justice Advocacy Services (TEJAS)


9 views