بالشراكة مع

مدرسة فور الثانوية

تيجاس ، متحمس للاحتفال بشريكنا طويل الأمد ، مدرسة فور الثانوية التابعة لمنطقة هيوستن المستقلة التعليمية. بالشراكة خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية ، ومن خلال علم المواطن ، تمكنا من الارتقاء بعمل الإصحاح البيئي في مدينة هيوستن. من خلال إعادة التفكير في المدرسة الثانوية التقليدية ، وتحويل التعلم إلى ما وراء الجدران الأربعة للفصل الدراسي ، مما يجعل Furr High School ، "أول مدرسة للعدالة البيئية في الأمة".

تم تخصيص Green Institute في Furr High School لإلهام الطلاب لتحمل المسؤولية الشخصية لتحسين البيئة ومدرستنا ومنازلنا ومجتمعنا. تعاني مدرسة فور الثانوية والمجتمعات المحيطة بها من ارتفاع معدلات الإصابة بمرض السكري والسمنة والأمراض الأخرى المرتبطة بالصحة بسبب سوء التغذية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك مثال رئيسي لمجتمع السياج ، حيث يوجد عدد من مجمعات البتروكيماويات ومصافي التكرير في المنطقة ، مما يتسبب في رداءة نوعية الهواء ويؤدي إلى عدد من القضايا المتعلقة بالصحة.

بصفتنا شركاء تصميم أصليين مع Furr High School ، بالنسبة لمشروع XQ Super School ، نحن متحمسون للنمو والتحول. تمكنا معًا من استضافة وتصميم التطوير المهني مع المعلمين من خلال دمج ورش عمل التصميم وبرمجة التعلم الميداني في مدينة هيوستن. لقد عملنا معًا أيضًا ، كشريك مُدرس لتطوير مدرسة Furr High School و "المهمة والرؤية والمعتقدات" و Portrait of Graduate Profile ، بما يتوافق مع مبادئ تصميم XQ.

Untitled design - 2021-02-07T113601.904.

على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية ، نجحت مدرسة فور الثانوية "السفراء الخضر" في قيادة عدد من مشاريع تخضير الحراجة الزراعية الحضرية في مدينة هيوستن ، تكساس ، والترويج لها وقيادتها. بالتعاون مع مؤسسة Fruit Tree Planting Foundation (FTPF) ، وهي مؤسسة خيرية دولية غير ربحية حائزة على جوائز ، وبدعم من وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية للغابات وشركاء آخرين ، يلتزم Green Ambassadors بزراعة أشجار الفاكهة والنباتات ذات الصلة بالأغذية للتخفيف من الجوع ، مكافحة تغير المناخ وتقوية المجتمعات وتحسين الهواء المحيط والتربة والمياه. تربط مدرسة فور الثانوية المدارس من خلال إنشاء ممر من أشجار الفاكهة الصالحة للأكل ، وتصميم مناظر طبيعية مستدامة يمكن أن يتعايش فيها السكان والحياة البرية ويزدهرون. مع وجود أكثر من مائتي شجرة فاكهة مزروعة ، على بعد 15-18 قدمًا ، يترجم إلى أكثر من 1500 قدم من المساحات الخضراء الحضرية التي يكون فيها السفراء الأخضر مشرفون. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أنشأوا في عام 2016 حديقة المجتمع في هيرمان براون بارك ، والتي تقع عبر الشارع من الحرم الجامعي الذي يحتفظ به طلابهم في Future Farmers of America طوال المواسم.

حتى الآن ، تمكنا معًا من إشراك أكثر من مئات الطلاب في "العدالة الاجتماعية" و "الجولات السامة" ، والتي تسمح للطلاب والمعلمين من خلال شهادات شهود العيان ، بتوثيق المشكلات التي تواجه المدينة والبحث عن حلول. معًا ، مع Texas A&M و Furr High School ، نقوم بتمكين الطلاب والمجتمع. اشترك طلاب الدراسات العليا من برامج التخطيط الحضري وهندسة المناظر الطبيعية في كلية تكساس إيه آند إم للهندسة المعمارية وكلية الصحة العامة ، متصلين معًا لتحسين الظروف البيئية في شرق هيوستن. لقد تمكنوا من تضمين الطلاب والمعلمين في البرمجة البحثية القائمة على المشاريع. جمع البيانات في الميدان من خلال الزيارات المنزلية والمقابلات وأنظمة المعلومات العالمية وعلوم المواطن والإرشاد. كان الطلاب قادرين على المشاركة بنشاط في مجتمعاتهم ، والبحث في القضايا البيئية والتحدث في جلسات الاستماع العامة.

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.25.07 AM.pn

التدريب الداخلي

فرص

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.20.28 AM.pn

  معًا ، تمكنا من إنشاء مسار للتدريب الداخلي

في Tejas for Furr High School ، تم تصميم رمز مع البرمجة المهنية للمدرسة في الوسائط المتعددة ورواية القصص الوثائقية. الأول من نوعه في مدينة هيوستن. تواجه مجتمعاتنا التحسين ، وتختفي ثقافات وتاريخ وأصوات أحيائنا. تم الإبلاغ عن ذلك من قبل بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي في دالاس ، تخضع هيوستن للتحسين بشكل أسرع من أي منطقة حضرية كبرى أخرى في تكساس. معًا ، مع Furr High School ، يخرج الطلاب ويخرجون منتجات الوسائط المتعددة ، مما يحافظ على أصوات مجتمعاتنا المهمشة من خلال التصوير الفوتوغرافي وملفات تعريف الفيديو والفن والمدونات ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والمنتجات المطبوعة وأحداث العرض. تمكين الشباب ليكونوا الجيل القادم من رواة القصص والقادة والمؤرخين.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، ظهرت هيوستن كرونيكل في مدرسة فور الثانوية لبرامج العدالة البيئية في الحرم الجامعي. من خلال عملنا الوطني والدولي ، لم نشهد أبدًا مدرسة مثل مدرسة فور الثانوية. إنهم حقًا المدرسة الوحيدة في البلاد التي تركز على إشراك طلابهم بوعي العدالة الاجتماعية والقضايا البيئية ، من خلال الحلول وبناء المجتمع.

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

FURR HIGH SCHOOL

T.e.j.a.s, is excited to celebrate our long term partner, Furr High School of the Houston Independent School District.  In partnership for the past few years, through citizen science, we have been able to uplift the environmental justice work in the City of Houston. By rethinking traditional high school, and transforming learning beyond the four walls of the classroom making Furr High School, the “First Environmental Justice School in the Nation.”

The Green Institute at Furr High School is dedicated to inspiring students to take personal responsibility for improving the environment, our school, homes, and community. Furr High School and surrounding communities are plagued with high rates of diabetes, obesity and other health associated illnesses due to poor diets. In addition, a prime example of a fenceline community, as a number of petrochemical complexes and refineries are in the area, causing  poor air quality and leading to a number of health related issues.

As being original design partners with Furr High School, for the XQ Super School Project, we are excited of the growth and transformation. Together, we have been able to host and design professional development with educators through integration of design workshops, and field based learning programming in the city of Houston. We also worked together, as a taught partner to develop Furr High School’s, “Mission, vision and beliefs,” and Portrait of Graduate Profile, aligned with XQ design principles.

Untitled design - 2021-02-07T113601.904.

For the past five years, Furr High School, “Green Ambassadors” have successfully piloted, advocated, and led a number of urban agroforestry greenification projects in the city of Houston, Texas. Together, with the Fruit Tree Planting Foundation (FTPF), an award-winning international nonprofit charity, and with support from the USDA Forest Service and other partners, Green Ambassadors are committed to planting fruit trees and food-related understory plants to alleviate hunger, combat climate change, strengthen communities, and improve the surrounding air, soil, and water. Furr High School is linking schools through the creation of a corridor of edible fruit trees, and designing sustainable landscapes in which residents and wildlife may coexist and thrive. With over two hundred fruit trees planted, at 15-18 feet apart, translates to over 1,500+ feet of urban green space in which Green Ambassadors are stewards.  In addition, in 2016 they established a Community Garden at Herman Brown Park, that is across the street from the campus in which their Future Farmers of America students maintain throughout the seasons

Thus far, together we have been able to engage over hundreds of students with “Social Justice” and “Toxic Tours,” which allow students and educators through eyewitness accounts, to document the issues the city is facing and seek out solutions. Together, with Texas A&M and Furr High School we empower the students and community.  Graduate students from the Texas A&M College of Architecture’s urban planning and landscape architecture programs and the School of Public Health have partnered, connecting together to improve the environmental conditions in east Houston. They have been able to include students and educators in project based researched programming. Collecting data on the field through house visits, interviews, global information systems, citizen science and mentorship. Students have been able to actively engage in their own community, researching environmental issues and speaking at public hearings.

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.25.07 AM.pn

Internship

Opportunities

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.20.28 AM.pn

 Together, we have been able to create a path of internships

at T.e.j.a.s  for Furr High School, codesigned with the school’s vocational programming in multimedia and documentary storytelling. The first of its kind in the city of Houston. Our communities are facing gentrification, the cultures, histories and voices of our neighbourhoods are disappearing. It has been reported by Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, Houston is undergoing gentrification faster than any other major Texas metropolitan area. Together, with Furr High School, students venture out and produce multimedia products, preserving the voices of our marginalized communities through photography, video profiles, art, blogging, social media, print products and showcase events. Empowering youth, to be the next generation of storytellers, leaders and historians.

Recently, the Houston Chronicle featured Furr High School for the environmental justice programming on the campus. Through our national and international work, we have never witnessed such a school as Furr High School. They are truly, the only school in the nation focusing on engaging their students with the consciousness of social justice and environmental issues, through solutions and community building.