與合作夥伴關係

富爾中學

Tejas很高興慶祝我們的長期合作夥伴休斯頓獨立學區的Furr高中。在過去的幾年中,通過公民科學的合作,我們得以提升休斯頓市的環境司法工作。通過對傳統的高中進行重新思考,並將學習轉變為教室的四面牆之外,使Furr高中成為“全國第一所環境正義學校”。

Furr高中的綠色學院致力於激勵學生承擔改善環境,我們的學校,家庭和社區的個人責任。富爾高中及周邊社區因飲食不良而罹患糖尿病,肥胖症和其他與健康相關的疾病的比率很高。此外,圍欄社區的一個很好的例子,因為該地區有許多石化廠和精煉廠,導致空氣質量差,並導致許多與健康有關的問題。

作為富爾高中(Furr High School)的原始設計合作夥伴,我們為XQ超級學校項目感到高興和成長。通過整合設計工作室和休斯頓市基於現場的學習計劃,我們能夠一起與教育者一起主持和設計專業發展。我們還作為教學合作夥伴一起合作,開發了符合XQ設計原則的Furr高中的“使命,願景和信念”和“畢業生簡介”。

Untitled design - 2021-02-07T113601.904.

在過去的五年中,Furr高中的“綠色大使”在德克薩斯州休斯敦市成功地試點,倡導並領導了許多城市農林業綠化項目。綠色大使與屢獲殊榮的國際非營利慈善機構果樹種植基金會(FTPF)一起,在美國農業部森林服務局和其他合作夥伴的支持下,致力於種植果樹和與食物相關的林下植物,以減輕飢餓,應對氣候變化,加強社區建設,改善周圍的空氣,土壤和水。富爾高中(Furr High School)通過創建可食用果樹走廊和設計可持續景觀,使居民和野生生物共存並繁榮發展,從而將學校與學校聯繫起來。種植了200棵果樹,相距15-18英尺,轉化為超過1500英尺的城市綠色空間,綠色大使在其中進行管理。此外,2016年,他們在赫爾曼·布朗公園(Herman Brown Park)上建立了社區花園,該花園位於校園對面,他們的美國未來農民學生在整個季節都在其中生活

到目前為止,我們已經通過“社會正義”和“有毒遊覽”吸引了數百名學生,這使學生和教育工作者可以通過目擊者的陳述來記錄城市面臨的問題並尋求解決方案。我們與德州A&M和Furr高中一起,為學生和社區提供支持。得克薩斯州A&M建築學院的城市規劃和景觀建築計劃的研究生與公共衛生學院合作,共同改善了休斯頓東部的環境條件。他們已經能夠將學生和教育者納入基於項目的研究計劃中。通過內部訪問,訪談,全球信息系統,公民科學和指導來收集現場數據。學生們能夠積極參與自己的社區,研究環境問題並在公開聽證會上發言。

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.25.07 AM.pn

實習

商機

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.20.28 AM.pn

  在一起,我們已經能夠創建實習路徑

在Tejas for Furr高中就讀,與學校的多媒體和紀錄片講故事的職業節目編碼在一起。休斯敦市首家此類酒店。我們的社區正面臨著高檔化,我們社區的文化,歷史和聲音正在消失。據達拉斯聯邦儲備銀行報導,休斯頓的高檔化進程比德克薩斯州的其他主要都會區都要快。與富爾高中一起,學生們冒險冒險並生產多媒體產品,通過攝影,視頻簡介,藝術,博客,社交媒體,印刷產品和展示活動來保留我們邊緣化社區的聲音。使青年成為下一代的講故事者,領導人和歷史學家。

最近,《休斯頓紀事報》以富爾高中為特色,在校園內開展環境正義計劃。通過我們的國內和國際工作,我們從未見過像Furr高中這樣的學校。他們確實是美國唯一一所致力於通過解決方案和社區建設使學生具有社會正義和環境問題意識的學校。

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

FURR HIGH SCHOOL

T.e.j.a.s, is excited to celebrate our long term partner, Furr High School of the Houston Independent School District.  In partnership for the past few years, through citizen science, we have been able to uplift the environmental justice work in the City of Houston. By rethinking traditional high school, and transforming learning beyond the four walls of the classroom making Furr High School, the “First Environmental Justice School in the Nation.”

The Green Institute at Furr High School is dedicated to inspiring students to take personal responsibility for improving the environment, our school, homes, and community. Furr High School and surrounding communities are plagued with high rates of diabetes, obesity and other health associated illnesses due to poor diets. In addition, a prime example of a fenceline community, as a number of petrochemical complexes and refineries are in the area, causing  poor air quality and leading to a number of health related issues.

As being original design partners with Furr High School, for the XQ Super School Project, we are excited of the growth and transformation. Together, we have been able to host and design professional development with educators through integration of design workshops, and field based learning programming in the city of Houston. We also worked together, as a taught partner to develop Furr High School’s, “Mission, vision and beliefs,” and Portrait of Graduate Profile, aligned with XQ design principles.

Untitled design - 2021-02-07T113601.904.

For the past five years, Furr High School, “Green Ambassadors” have successfully piloted, advocated, and led a number of urban agroforestry greenification projects in the city of Houston, Texas. Together, with the Fruit Tree Planting Foundation (FTPF), an award-winning international nonprofit charity, and with support from the USDA Forest Service and other partners, Green Ambassadors are committed to planting fruit trees and food-related understory plants to alleviate hunger, combat climate change, strengthen communities, and improve the surrounding air, soil, and water. Furr High School is linking schools through the creation of a corridor of edible fruit trees, and designing sustainable landscapes in which residents and wildlife may coexist and thrive. With over two hundred fruit trees planted, at 15-18 feet apart, translates to over 1,500+ feet of urban green space in which Green Ambassadors are stewards.  In addition, in 2016 they established a Community Garden at Herman Brown Park, that is across the street from the campus in which their Future Farmers of America students maintain throughout the seasons

Thus far, together we have been able to engage over hundreds of students with “Social Justice” and “Toxic Tours,” which allow students and educators through eyewitness accounts, to document the issues the city is facing and seek out solutions. Together, with Texas A&M and Furr High School we empower the students and community.  Graduate students from the Texas A&M College of Architecture’s urban planning and landscape architecture programs and the School of Public Health have partnered, connecting together to improve the environmental conditions in east Houston. They have been able to include students and educators in project based researched programming. Collecting data on the field through house visits, interviews, global information systems, citizen science and mentorship. Students have been able to actively engage in their own community, researching environmental issues and speaking at public hearings.

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.25.07 AM.pn

Internship

Opportunities

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 11.20.28 AM.pn

 Together, we have been able to create a path of internships

at T.e.j.a.s  for Furr High School, codesigned with the school’s vocational programming in multimedia and documentary storytelling. The first of its kind in the city of Houston. Our communities are facing gentrification, the cultures, histories and voices of our neighbourhoods are disappearing. It has been reported by Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, Houston is undergoing gentrification faster than any other major Texas metropolitan area. Together, with Furr High School, students venture out and produce multimedia products, preserving the voices of our marginalized communities through photography, video profiles, art, blogging, social media, print products and showcase events. Empowering youth, to be the next generation of storytellers, leaders and historians.

Recently, the Houston Chronicle featured Furr High School for the environmental justice programming on the campus. Through our national and international work, we have never witnessed such a school as Furr High School. They are truly, the only school in the nation focusing on engaging their students with the consciousness of social justice and environmental issues, through solutions and community building.